Women In News Africa 2017/2018

WAN-IFRA seeks high potential media women for participation in its flagship leadership development programme.
The World Association of Newspaper and News Publishers (WAN-IFRA) is pleased to invite Senior Journalists or Editors working for the media in Botswana, Rwanda, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Kenya, Tanzania and Malawi, especially those in newspapers or digital media, to apply for the much-sought-after Women in News (WIN) leadership development programme.

WIN works with media companies and their high potential female employees to overcome the gender gap in management and senior management positions. The programme seeks to equip women media professionals in middle and senior management positions with the right skills, knowledge, and attitudes to help advance their careers. WIN provides them the support networks they need to take on a greater leadership role within their organizations and works with their organizations to create environments for high-potential women to succeed.

In-keeping with the technological developments, this year the WIN programme launches for the first time an Online Media Management Foundation Course in association with Frayintermedia, which makes learning about media management a lot more exciting with the potential of reaching more people.

The successful applicants will be expected to volunteer time in the mentoring of up and coming journalists in their markets as a way of giving back something to the community. This is a requirement of the WIN programme so as to help build the staying power for young female journalists in the media while creating a community of support for the advancement of women.

The programme will run from October 2017 and June 2018 and successful applicants will benefit from the following:

1. Online Leadership and Media Management Training
2. One-on-one Coaching support
3. Peer Mentoring
4. National and Regional Networking opportunities


Media women with a minimum of 2 years in a middle management position (editorial or a senior journalist).

Deadline; 2 October 2017

For more information click here.

Related Articles