The World Press Photo Digital Storytelling Contest

Digital technologies have transformed how we produce and consume stories.

The World Press Photo Digital Storytelling Contest rewards those producing the best forms of visual journalism enabled by these changes.
The contest is open to digital storytellers, visual journalists, producers, and entry coordinators, with submissions that include the work of a professional visual journalist.

3 December 2018: The contest website opens for entries.
8 January 2019: Contest website closes for entries (12 noon CET)
11 April 2019: A representative from the nominated productions are invited to attend the 2019 Awards Show in Amsterdam during which the The World Press Photo Online Video of the Year, The World Press Photo Interactive of the Year, and all Digital Storytelling Contest winners will be announced.
11 – 13 April 2019: World Press Photo Festival in Amsterdam.
All 3 nominees in each of the 3 categories are invited to the World Press Photo Festival in Amsterdam. A representative from each of the nominated productions will have their travel and lodging paid for by the World Press Photo Foundation. The nominees in each category will receive a diploma and a Golden Eye Award, presented during the annual Awards Show.

The World Press Photo Foundation launched its Multimedia Contest in 2011 (renamed the Digital Storytelling Contest in 2016), as a way to recognize the new forms of visual storytelling being enabled by the changing media economy. You can browse the galleries of past winners below:

For more information visit here.

Show More

Related Articles

Read previous post:
Watch Melyssa Cover Beyonce for Mr Eazi

As many Zimbabwean artists content for Mr Eazi's Empawa competition, upcoming singer Melyssa simply known as Mel puts in her...