Digital Lab Africa: Inviting Professionals or Individuals from Sub-Saharan Africa

The Digital Lab Africa (DLA) is seeking a call for projects #3 to provide a springboard to the creators of next-generation content and to make their project happen with the support of French & Sub-Saharan African leading companies such as Lagardère Studios, ARTE or Triggerfish Animation.

DLA call for projects targets artists, producers, designers, start-ups, students in the media and creative industries. The call is open to anyone from Sub-Saharan Africa having an innovative project in 5 categories of multimedia production.

DLA Categories

DLA is looking for projects at initial stage of development, in need of partners and financial support and innovative in terms of narration, content or technologies.

Web Creation

Virtual Reality

Video Game

Digital Music


Prize Information

Following the call for projects, 30 projects are selected for the final Pitch Competition by the DLA’ Selection Committees members. The β€œVideo Pitch” of the 30 competitors are displayed online on a voting platform where the audience has the opportunity to watch and vote for their favorite pitch. After individual interviews with each of the finalists, 10 projects are finally selected by the DLA’ Selection Committees as winners of the DLA Pitch Competition. The 10 winning projects (2 projects per category) are granted with a 42,000ZAR cash prize and a Digital Lab Africa Incubation Pass to accelerate their project.

Eligibility Criteria

The Digital Lab Africa call for projects is open to anyone from the field of digital content creation: artists, producers, designers, start-ups, SMEs, collectives, students or entrepreneurs, based in Sub-Saharan Africa or a national of a country in this region.

Participants at the Digital Lab Africa platform must be residents or nationals of one of the subSaharan African countries: South Africa, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Mauritania, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of Congo, Rwanda, Sao TomΓ© and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

The projects can be submitted by a candidate who does not live in sub-Saharan Africa on condition that this candidate is a national of one of the countries of this region.

In this case, the project development and production should be mostly implemented in a sub-Saharan African country.

Minimum age for participants is 18 years.

How to Apply

Applicants must complete the online form via given website.

Deadline: 13 January 2019

For more information, please visit here.

Related Articles

Back to top button